The Blogman Cometh… again.

Wow. It’s been awhile. So, my apologies to everybody who reads my blog regularly – or at least did read it regularly, since there hasn’t been anything to read for a few months. After getting an actual job I found I just didn’t have the time to keep up with the blog. Also, I spend a lot of my time working on Ask an Atheist now (on the air every Sunday, stream at Askanatheist.tv iTunes, or other podcast services /shamelessplug), which gives me an outlet for my atheist activism.

Let me pull back the curtain a little bit. I’ve never been one who can do the quick hit blog. I have so much respect for guys Hemant Mehta and JT Eberhard who can write 5 posts a day. For me, I just don’t have it in me to write a 200 word piece and move on to the next bit of news. My style is much more involved. if you look at all my posts, you’ll rarely find anything under 1000 words. Some of them were upwards of 3000 words. I know blogs tend to be shorter, but if I’m going to spend my time writing about a subject, I want to explore that subject thoroughly. It’s something I’ve been criticized for in the past, but that’s just my writing style.

When I write a post, it’s an involved process, usually taking a number of hours. When I was at my most active last winter, I was consistently writing 3 posts a week. Every one of those posts included a couple hours of reading news stories to find something I wanted to write about, followed by a couple more hours of researching so that I wasn’t talking out of my ass and making sure I had good sources for what I was writing (that’s why my posts tend to be very link heavy). Then there was a couple hours to write a draft, revise, clean up and generally make sure the post is up to the standard I want.

Hell, this post is a perfect example. I sat down with the intention of writing just a couple quick sentences to say that I’m back. Now here I am 4 paragraphs in.

I don’t think it’s an exaggeration to say the average post takes me 6 to 7 hours worth of work. This isn’t a complaint, I loved doing it. But when I got a job, even though it was part-time, finding 7 free hours wasn’t nearly as easy. So I stopped writing.

However, I miss it. I’ve adjusted my schedule, and I think I might have found enough time to get back to writing. I certainly have a subject or two that I feel the need to sound off on. I can’t promise that I’ll get back to three posts a week. Doing the math, that was 18 to 21 hours a week I was putting in, which is a part-time job in and of itself (and one that doesn’t pay all that great, either). But keep an eye out, and hopefully I can get some regular posts up again. Look for something today or tomorrow.

Jesus supposedly was resurrected after 3 days. My blog will have to settle for waiting 5 months for it’s resurrection.

Leave a Reply

